Apply for an Early Stage Researcher fellowship

Each SAGEX ESR fellowship is a 3-year, funded PhD position, subject to strict eligibility requirements that are outlined below. Interested applicants are encouraged to contact the project supervisor as soon as possible. Please note that positions at different institutes will require separate applications.

There are currently no ESR positions open to applications. The following position will open in January 2019:

Uncovering the kinematic algebra behind colour-kinematic duality

Location: Humboldt University Berlin, Germany
Supervisor: Jan Plefka (Send Jan an email).

More information


Eligibility requirements

Appointments to any Marie Skłodowska-Curie Innovative Training Network are subject to strict eligibility criteria. At the time of appointment, applicants:

  • Must not have resided or carried out their main activity (work, studies) in the country for more than 12 months in the last 3 years.
  • Must be in the first four years of their research career.
  • Must not have already been awarded a doctoral degree.


Successful candidates will receive a 36-month, full-time employment contract. The salary will be confirmed upon offer and is dependent on location  (due to a country weighting). The approximate monthly salary before employer and statutory deductions is: €3,259 (Austria); €4,207 (Denmark); €3,452 (France); €3,072 (Germany); €3,529 (Ireland); and €3,741 (UK), and an additional mobility allowance of €600 per month is paid to all researchers.

Researchers may also qualify for a family allowance of €500 per month, depending on their family situation at the time of recruitment. Please visit the  EU MSCA website  for further information.